Don’t ever grow up. Don’t become a bore. Don’t ever let the Man get to you. … #GIRLBOSS for life.
—p. 5, Introduction

GIRLBOSS_coverI heard about this book on Pinterest, of all places. I had been pinning various reading lists in preparation for this 50 book challenge, and this was in a list of “Best Books for #GIRLBOSSES.” As a wannabe Miranda Priestly, this definitely appealed to me. I would definitely need some #GIRLBOSS advice. So I put it on hold at the library and anxiously awaited for it to be available.

I’ve said this a lot, but this is definitely one of the books I will be buying for my bookshelves. I’ve highlighted so many phrases in my borrowed Kindle version that I’ll quickly jot down into my journal before my copy disappears completely in four days (or is it three?).

Since graduating from college almost a year ago (!), I’ve been wondering what path to take. Yes, I have a really awesome copy editing job right now but where do I want to be in five years? 10 years? And how do I get there? These are important questions for anyone to ask themselves. The main thing, for me, is to stop doubting myself and what I can do. I think that’s the case for many people, especially women. While I did read Sheryl Sandberg’s “Lean In,” I think “#GIRLBOSS” provided quite a bit more helpful information.

“#GIRLBOSS” by Sophio Amoruso is chock full of real-life examples and bits of advice Amoruso learned from building her Nasty Gal business from literally nothing. She never graduated high school and attempted community college. Without any business experience, she started an eBay store for vintage clothes she bought at various thrift stores, Goodwills, etc. That was 2006 and in January 2015, she stepped down as CEO of Nasty Gal.

The energy you’ll spend focusing on someone else’s life is better spent working on your own. Just be your own idol.
—p. 13, Chapter One

While reading “#GIRLBOSS,” I felt as if Amoruso was actually talking to me. Her writing style is very conversational and sections of the chapters are split into small, easy-to-read narratives. Along with Amoruso’s chapters, there are sections from other #GIRLBOSSES offering their own advice: Nasty Gal’s Christina Ferrucci, MPNAILS.com’s Madeline Pool and imboycrazy.com’s Alexi Wasser, to name a few.

Amoruso’s advice isn’t just statements to write on a Post-It note for your mirror (my favorite: “The only thing I smoke is my competition.”) She offers cover letter tips, how to save money, how to ask for a raise and how to run a successful business. And those are just the ones I can remember off the top of my head.

I’m really excited to see if Amoruso writes another book, which she hinted at in “#GIRLBOSS” and in a blog post video. Just from reading this book, I can tell Amoruso has a lot of advice left to give. Her story gives hope to all #GIRLBOSSES that they can achieve what they work hard for, no matter what.

You create the world, blink by blink. It is entirely yours to discover and yours to create.
—p. 236

One thought on “Review: ‘#GIRLBOSS’ by Sophia Amoruso

Leave a Reply

