Review: ‘The Mousetrap’ by Agatha Christie

The Mousetrap Agatha ChristieLet it be known that for the first time ever, I picked the killer in an Agatha Christie mystery before they were revealed. I think that calls for some sort of celebration, yes?

I buckled down to read Christie’s “The Mousetrap” a few days ago, still unsure how it would go because it’s a play, not a book. My friend told me her plays are easier to read because she provides so much details outside of the character detail. Knowing that made it easier to be excited to read it. Plus, I just bought tickets to see the longest-running play in London with said friend in December, and I wanted to know what the play would be like before we saw it.

In “The Mousetrap,” a group of strangers find themselves stranded in a boarding house during a snowstorm. Prior to the beginning of the play, a woman named Maureen Lyon was strangled in a London home. When one of the strangers is murdered, the group must reenact the scene before a third person is killed.

I loved reading this play, probably because of the amount of detail Christie put into its script. I’m guessing one of the main reasons she did that was because every detail needs to be accounted for. Christie always drops clues and hints through her mysteries, many of them red herrings, to help the reader attempt to figure out the perpetrator before the characters.

There’s not too much else for me to say. The story itself takes place in the span of about 24 hours, and it’s a fairly short play. I’d rather not give too much away. Besides, I’ve heard that audiences of “The Mousetrap” are told not to reveal the ending once the play is over. And the short story that the play is based on still has not been published in the U.K. I will say this: there are no mice. Though the short story’s title is “Three Blind Mice,” and the tune is creepily featured throughout.

That said, I encourage you to seek out “The Mousetrap” and read it for yourself. Or better yet: fly to London and see it live. That’s what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

