Happy National Coming Out Day!

It’s been 27 years since the first NCOD, which is observed annually on Oct. 11 to celebrate coming out and to raise awareness of the LGBTQ+ community.

Since I’ve known about NCOD, I’ve stood by as a straight ally. I’ve watched friends and others come out on different social media platforms. I’ve watched multiple videos on YouTube.

But this year, I’m not going to stand by as a straight ally. Mostly because I’m not straight.

I am asexual.

It’s been just over two years since I began identifying as asexual, or ace for short. Some people I told, some people I didn’t. It’s something I’ve never been sure how to bring up into conversations, mostly because it will involve a mini lesson of what asexuality is and possibly debunking any comments about what the person thinks about asexuality. I never thought it was important that I come out as ace either. I was just going to live my life, and if people wanted to believe I was spinster or a free spirit, so be it.

But I’ve come to realize how important it is for me to come out as asexual. Asexuality is an invisible orientation. How many of you knew what asexuality was before reading this post? I didn’t even know asexual was an option before a friend asked me if I was two years ago. All I ever knew was gay, lesbian, bi or trans. When I saw the LGBTQA, I thought the A stood for ally. Glaad did, too, until the asexual community campaigned for them to #giveitback.

I’ve learned a lot in the past couple of years, especially in the last year as I helped a little with North American Asexuality Conference, hosted by Asexual Outreach. I’ve become more comfortable with who I am, and finally am in a position to talk about it outside of my Tumblr and a couple close friends.

If you have any questions about asexuality, don’t hesitate to ask me. I’ve included some asexuality links below as well. This certainly won’t be the last time I’ll be blogging about asexuality either, so keep your eyes open.

So happy coming out day to my fellow aces and the LGBTQ+ community!

Asexual Resources

640px-Asexual_flag.svg

Asexuality Archive

What Is Asexuality

Asexual Spectrum

The Asexuality Blog

Leave a Reply

